Jamie Loeb Wins NCAA Women’s Singles Championship; Rubin Runner Up

Jamie Loeb won the NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championship, held at Baylor University’s Hurd Tennis Center, Monday. The University of North Carolina sophomore Loeb, seeded No. 7, closed out Carol Zhao of Stanford, 6-2, 4-6, 6-1 in the final for her fifth three-set win in her six matches. Noah Rubin of Wake Forest advanced to the men’s finals before falling to Ryan Shane of the University of Virginia, 3-6, 7-6 (4), 6-1.

Loeb, who was the UNC Athlete of the Year and ACC Women’s Tennis Player of the Year in her second year in Chapel Hill after ranking No. 1 in the country as a freshman, led in the first set before play was moved indoors because of inclement weather. Zhao, who entered the event seeded second, rallied from 2-4 to win the second set before Loeb finished the match off in the third.

After taking the first set, No. 7 seed Rubin had a chance at 5-4 to close out the match on his serve, but was broken by No. 8 Shane, who went on to win the tiebreaker at 7-4 and cruised to the third-set win.